!!Meet The Sluggers!!

June is bustin’ out all over with delicious SLUG veggies! It is high time for an introduction to the fierce team of gardeners who are already a month into the many adventures found in the garden.  We’ve navigated jungles of thistle and burdock, trellised baby tomatoes, made sweet friends with a red-winged black bird, and fully embraced the sprinkly sunny windy Wisconsin summer!  Throughout the summer, these warriors will share the adventures with you all through this blog, our facebook page, and our instagram @slug_garden!! But first, the gardeners!!

GRACE THE HAT MASTER

IMG_2504-1

 

Hi my name is Grace Reif and I am one of the summer SLUG workers! I don’t have a lot of experience gardening, but I’m enjoying every second of learning. I’m a rising junior majoring in English and minoring in Creative Writing. My favorite include but are not limited to dancing, writing, and ice cream.

 

 

JENNY FOE OF THISTLE

14516502_1103710966391179_2445605980253561184_n.jpg

 

Hello hello! My name is Jenny and I am the garden manager for 2017-18.  This is summer number three working in that beautiful garden! I am a rising theatre double majoring in Anthropology and Theatre Arts.  I love popcorn, think fish are freaky, and have a dog named Peaches <<33.

 

KELCI THE WEEDING WARRIOR19389869_1574331342600158_819362754_n.jpg

Hi, I’m Kelci Page, and I’m going to be a junior in the 2017-2018 school year. This is my first time ever working in SLUG, and I’m so excited! I grew up on a farm in Iowa, so being in the garden makes me feel right at home. So far, my favorite garden adventure has been taking a lost duckling that some ladies found during reunion weekend to a wildlife refuge and rehabilitation center in Green Bay. I’m looking forward to more unexpected adventures like these, as well as the planned ones, like seeing all our seedlings grow up into big tasty veggies! 🙂

QUEEN BEE MAGGIE

18301191_1656480011064838_879257025139790167_n.jpg

Hi! I’m Maggie and I’m a junior double-majoring in biology and music. I got involved in SLUG last year and have been managing the beekeeping operation, although a recent honeybee allergy I developed means that I have a lot of beekeeping help these days. My other interests include hiking, camping, and playing cello. I’m from rural northern Minnesota where I grew up on a hobby farm, so being in SLUG comes with a sense of comfort and familiarity.

 

 

 

 

 

MORGAN WHO LOVES PICKLES

IMG_2619.JPG

 

Junior geology and studio art major Morgan Shapiro is about to embark on their third year in SLUG, second year on the Co-op and first year in the house! Their favorite part of the garden is the cucumbers (future pickles).

 

 

 

RACHEL WHO SINGS TO VEGGIES

13041467_796215433856147_773299176615504440_o.jpg

I’m a rising sophomore studying government and environmental studies. I enjoy participating in choir and voice lessons, along with being a member of SLUG, CFC, and College Dems. I’m a CORE leader and writing tutor for this upcoming academic year. I love the outdoors and tea.

 

 

Stay tuned for more tales of the garden!

xoxo – Your Summer SLUG Team

Leave a Reply

