Bye Bye SLUG!!

IMG_2104

This year was my second summer working in SLUG, and this season brought with it many joys, challenges, and learning experiences (i.e. what do you do when you DROP a box of bees???)  I am so so so grateful to have returned to this internship for a second time.  Seeing the bright faces of  Elana, Nicole, and Anna at 6am every morning has been absolutely wonderful.  I could not have asked for a better garden crew with whom to spend this summer.

In just under a week, I will be boarding a plane to fly to Qatar, then New Delhi, and finally Pune, India.  I will spend all of fall semester learning the Marathi language, living with a host family, and (if all goes well) exploring the political theatre community of Maharashtra.  I am so excited to have this opportunity.  That being said, this experience is bittersweet, with such huge separation of time and distance from the communities at Lawrence that have come to mean so much.  SLUG has been one of the more defining experiences in my time so far at Lawrence, both in the vast amount I have learned in the garden and apiary, as well as the beautiful relationships I have found within the community.  I will miss all of these people very much!!!

Thank you to everyone who made this summer so special.  I’ll see you in January!

Tons of love,

Jenny

 

Leave a Reply

